I’m officially paying for discipline.

posted by Jen

I know I haven’t been here in a while. Before you jump to conclusions, I haven’t been hiding due to the guilt that usually accompanies the short-lived accomplishment of eating an entire box of snack cakes in one sitting. But now that I’ve mentioned it, I’m suddenly craving chocolate. Awesome.

No, I haven’t fallen off the wagon again. As a matter of fact, I officially joined Weight Watchers online last week. They are currently running a special which includes the joining fee, plus three months for $55. Once the special ends (in just a few days), joining for one month will cost about the same. So, if you’ve ever considered joining, now is the time!

After months… okay, two years… of unsuccessfully being disciplined enough to do things myself, I decided I needed a “plan” to follow. What I like about WW is that it really causes me to think about what I’m eating, to control my eating, and to make smarter decisions about what I do eat. And, as long as I make good decisions, I can still indulge and eat some of the things I crave. I had a milkshake last week, along with steak and crab cake for my anniversary, and still lost almost 4 pounds, without any exercise.

Exercise is still important and I’m working on making that a regular habit, but I finally feel like I have my indulgences under control. Baby steps, people.

Jon has been incredibly busy these past few weeks, so he’s only been worried about surviving his stress and exhaustion level. Now that he feels like he can breathe for a few days, I’m encouraging him to join WW online as well.

I’m sure I’ll be talking more about the WW plan in the weeks to come, and hopefully writing more regularly beginning next week.

One response to “I’m officially paying for discipline.

  1. I think that sounds like a great idea . . . I’ve been thinking about going back to WW myself. I just need to quit thinking about it and DO it!

Leave a comment